The Road Less Travelled…

Though not the exact image from my sweatshirt, the message is the same...

Though not the exact image from my sweatshirt, the message is the same…

I received a sweatshirt as a gift from my grandmother in my pre-teen years as a gift. It’s a gift that I still remember to this day, as the message it declared to those who read it is a message I have held close to my heart ever since.

I think of the message on that sweatshirt often, and how it has shaped many a decision made over the years. I can’t help but wonder if Grandma got it for me with such a purpose in mind, far beyond the “she loves that movie” reason my childhood brain believed she picked it.

Today, we lay Grandma to rest. It has been a few months now since a blizzard delayed the celebration of her life – her funeral – and now the temperatures have finally consistently risen to a point where we can proceed with her burial. Grandma, thank you so much for the influence you had over me and my life. Your legacy is one I am so grateful to be a descendant of. Thank you for touching so many lives, mine included. I will forever remember the good times. Love always, your granddaughter.

Leave a Reply

