Digging Deep for the New Year

Alright, so we’re already nearly at month 4 of the “new year,” but I saw these prompts from Tara Mohr in my inbox around the start of the year, and they’ve sat there since, patiently waiting for me to take the time to answer them. Though I haven’t necessarily always been one to sit down and write out goals, over the past couple of years I’ve seen the value in doing just that from time to time, as sort of an assessment of where I’m at on the way to wherever it is I want to be going. So, without further ado…

Because I wanted to make 2013 count, I… strove to show up as my best self in everything I did. And in order to accomplish that, I realized the need to let go of many things in order to be fully present and wholly engaged in whatever was at hand.

Because fear of failure was no longer a good enough reason not to do it, in 2013 I… continued to take my passions and run with them. I went out on a limb and applied for an entry-level job in the industry for which I am currently completing a degree, and once securing it I quit my highly disliked part-time position as an assistant to a dog groomer.

Because I listened to the whispers inside, in 2013 I…  actually stopped to listen and consider what those whispers were telling me. If those whispers were telling me “holy crap it’s the end of the world,” I sat and asked them why that was. If they were telling me I needed to slow it down and say “no” once in awhile, I sat and fully contemplated how my taking on another appointment would affect my ability to handle those things already on my plate. And I realized I was only human, and therefore am not expected to, am not capable of, and certainly just won’t do everything.

Because the things that brought me joy in childhood still do, in 2013 I… nurtured the horse-crazy girl inside of me, and refused to listen to the voices inside that said that the time I spent with my horses and thinking about horses was selfish and wasteful. Ditto for the creative kid in me who likes to make cards and draw and write and paint and read and sing…

Because simple pleasures are so rich, in 2013 I… made a conscious effort to stop and smell the roses. Instead of being in a hurry to get from A to B all the time, I made it a priority to notice the beauty along the journey, whether it be walking up from the barn after chores in the morning or driving home late in the day after my last class. There’s always something to appreciate, something to be thankful for.

Because my body has served me so beautifully all these years, in 2013 I… refocused my attention to health, back to how much I was in love with my body and how I cared for it prior to dropping the ball when school started fall semester.

Because the world needs my service, in 2013 I… focused on genuine love and kindness to everyone I met, and showed up ready to serve the greater good in my new profession.

Because of the remarkable people who have loved me and made me who I am, in 2013 I… strove to ensure they know just how much they matter to me. This meant I had to let go of some things, as overextending myself left little of me for them, and often had me treating them far less kindly than I would want to treat those who I love so deeply.

Because I am willing to believe in the power of forgiveness, in 2013 I… chose to treat a disconnected friend with the same enthusiasm I did when I once trusted her, before she ‘wronged’ me ‘one too many times.’

Because the silence has gone on long enough, in 2013 I… paused to listen to myself and consider my own opinion first before that of others.

Because I am so blessed, in 2013 I… strove to give myself whenever and however I could (with attention paid to not overextending myself as mentioned above).

Because I wanted, in the last days of my life, to remember this year with tears of gratitude, in 2013 I… made a commitment to listening to my heart amid all the noise of life. I followed my heart, because it knows the way…

Leave a Reply

