“The Help” – a book review

Cover of "The Help"

Cover of The Help

I sincerely appreciate a good book, and from time to time stumble upon one in which I genuinely love.  By posting a review, I intend not only to create a history for my future reflection, but also to introduce others to the title in hopes that they, two, may experience at least some of the enjoyment I received from its pages. 

 
Recently, I completed a novel I had started way back toward the end of March.  I hadn’t read it so slowly for lack of interest, mind you – it was lack of time that made it take so long!  A busy class and work schedule for spring semester lead immediately to a full-time work schedule, including pursuit of more college coursework for the summer semester (I like to work ahead of the game whenever I can! hehe).   
 
 
  The Help by Kathryn Stockett
The Help
by Kathryn Stockett(GoodreadsAuthor) 

 
5 of 5 stars false
Recommended to Chrissy by: Lyn
Recommended for: Everyone and anyone
Read from March 26 to July 11, 2012, read count: 1
** spoiler alert ** Likely one of the best reads I have ever been lucky enough to acquire. A quote on the cover of the copy I read from National Public Radio says this: “This could be one of the most important pieces of fiction since To Kill a Mockingbird… If you read only one book…let this be it.” Agreed. Stockett takes the reader through a journey during the rough times of racial inequalities in Jackson, MS, through the eyes of both “the help” and a young white woman determined to fight the commonplace beliefs of her society. Not only does she successfully accomplish this, but she also provides the reader with many an opportunity to realize that no matter whom you encounter in life, “We are just two people. Not that much separates us. Not nearly as much as I’d thought.”To previous reviewers who chastised Stockett for attempting to tell what life was “really like” for both African Americans and those who employed them during this time in United States history, I have to wonder if they read Stocket’s “Too Little, Too Late” essay at the end of the novel, and if they did, if they were “so locked up in [their] own head” (if I may quote Abileen, a character in the novel) and unable to comprehend what she wrote. She makes it as obvious as possible that she does not present herself as an “expert” on the subject nor does she realize or even attempt to concisely tell what it was truly like for such people in all aspects of their lives.

I applaud Kathryn Stockett for this contribution to modern literature, and earnestly hope it is adopted as a standard choice in school cirriculums worldwide.

  
 
Leave a Reply

